ECZEMA LINKED TO THYROID?

I was talking to my boyfriend’s mom about the affect the thyroid gland can have on an array of body functions.  She said it can affect your weight, mood, and even your skin.  In three weeks, I’m going to the doctor’s to get a physical and she suggested I have my thyroid checked (I’ll keep ya’ll posted on the results when I get them back).  We decided to check out her claim about the affect the thyroid can have on skin.  Here’s what we found:

The thyroid gland makes two hormonestriiodothyronine and thyroxine, that can change the amount of moisture the skin can hold, according to the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disorders.  According to the Dermatological Society, an under-active thyroid doesn’t produce enough of one or both of the hormones, also known as hypothyroidism.  All this medical jargon essentially means that eczema is potentially linked to the lack of a thyroid hormone.  This isn’t the first time I’ve heard about the potential link between hypothyroidism and eczema, but I ignored it because it was never explained to me this way.

If you suspect this information may be true, you can contact your family doctor to have your thyroid checked out with a simple blood test.  If your skeptical, you should be.  I’ll make sure to keep you guys posted on the results of my own personal thyroid test and find additional research and articles supporting this claim.  It seems many people have been treated with hypothyroidism and claim that after they treated this imbalance of hormones, their eczema started to change and even heal completely.  Check out their memoirs at: http://www.dailystrength.org/c/Eczema/forum/9022655-hypothyroidism-causing-eczema

-Sources: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disorders, Livestrong.com

About jamiesjournals

Yes, I have eczema. Yes, I'm writing about it. I suppose it's unoriginal, but I hope my work isn't. Please share more of your stories and experiences with me and please suggest topics if you're curious about anything. Hope to hear from all of you soon!! View all posts by jamiesjournals

10 responses to “ECZEMA LINKED TO THYROID?

  • eczemaexcellence

    Hey, did you ever find out about your thyroid? I was wondering this too as one of my doctors put me on a thyroid supplement saying it should help my eczema/dermatitis. Very informative post!

    • jamiesjournals

      I have not YET. I was actually scheduled to go in today, but had so many other appointments that I had to reschedule for the first week of December :/ I’ll for sure let you know when I get the results because my boyfriend’s mom is convinced this will help me and other people with eczema. If it does work, I want to know about it and I want to share it. I mean, that’s the whole reason I decided to do this, ya know? How long have you been on the thyroid supplement? I hope it works. I honestly, really, truly hope it works for you.

      Hey, would you be interested in writing a guest blog for me? No pressure or obligation!!! I just found your stuff pretty interesting and would love to create a community environment on my blog. I just started this whole thing and I’m really new to it. I hope you’ve been enjoying my blog!!! :)

  • eczemaexcellence

    Yes, let me know, for sure! I have been on the thyroid supplement for only about 2 weeks. I can’t tell if it is helping or not, but 2 weeks obviously isn’t very long…. maybe I’ll be able to see a difference after a month or so. I’ve read positive things about thyroid and skin conditions, so I’m really hoping that it will help!! Now that I recently weeded out the fact that my skin seems to be very sensitive to aloe vera and beeswax (both things very common in skin products esp those targeted at sensitive skin), I can maybe judge more if the thyroid thing will be helping.

    I would be honored and delighted to write a guest blog for you :) I AM enjoying your blog so much and I can’t wait to read future posts from you. I love your perspective and honesty about sharing your experiences and feelings about eczema. Just let me know what you would like me to write about in the guest blog and I will be more than happy to do it!

    • jamiesjournals

      It’s not long, but it’s a start. I need to read more about it and see what my thyroid results are so I can post more info. Weird that you’re allergic to beeswax too because people are always saying Burt’s Bees products are awesome. I gotta say though, I tried the hand salve by Burt’s Bees and it stung and made things worse. Avocado and almonds are also suppose to be great for skin, but I’m allergic to both!! And there are lots of avo and almond oils in skin products too. Keep me posted on the thyroid supplements.

      I’m so glad you’d be willing to write a guest blog for me. I haven’t decided on a topic, but once I come up with something I’ll let you know. Thanks again!! Oh, and I can’t tell you enough how much I appreciate your feedback and how glad I am to hear you’re enjoying my work. I will post more often. If I don’t hear from you before Thurs… Have a great Thanksgiving!!

      • eczemaexcellence

        Yeah, I haven’t tried TOO many of the Burt’s Bees products either, but I know some of them contain ingredients like mint/menthol which smell nice, but can be an irritant for skin.

        My current favorite oil for skin is straight grapeseed oil (I buy Aura Cacia brand which is supposed to be very pure and minimally processed), which maybe you wouldn’t be allergic to?

        You are so welcome! It’s great to read about other people’s experience and perspective on things (not just eczema!)

        I hope that you have a great Thanksgiving as well!!

  • the best home remedies for acne

    Wonderful web site. Plenty of useful info here. I am sending it to some pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you for your effort!

  • Thyroid Hormone Imbalance

    Really I appreciate on your blog. Thanks for sharing with us!

  • lmi government consulting

    What’s up i am kavin, its my first occasion to
    commenting anywhere, when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this brilliant article.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

