WHAT IS ECZEMA?

Eczema is also known as atopic dermatitis.  “Eczema is a chronic skin condition in which the skin becomes itchy, reddened, cracked and dry,” according to the Medical News Today official web site.  In other terms, eczema is something a person is born with in their genetic makeup.  It is a condition where the skin has an inability to stay moisturized, therefore it gets dry and can crack and bleed.

“Atopic eczema mainly affects children, but can continue into adulthood or start later in life,” also according to the MNT.  In my case, my atopic eczema started at birth and continued well into adulthood.  At 26 years old, I still have eczema on my hands and face.  However as a child, my skin condition was at its worse; covering my ears, face, neck, back, stomach, elbows, wrists, ankles, feet and behind my knees.  With time, patience and some extensive personal research, I was able to gain control of my eczema and begin to heal.

“It affects both males and females equally, as well as people from different ethnic backgrounds,” according to the MNT.  The web site also says the number of people diagnosed each year with eczema is and has been rising in recent years.  Approximately 80 percent of atopic eczema cases start before the age of five and a sizable number develops the skin condition during their first year of life,

You and I are not alone.  Eczema is growing and more people are diagnosed with it everyday.  The key to healing starts with a positive attitude and accepting that change will be difficult, but more than possible.  Eczema doesn’t have to be something you suffer with, it can be something that helps define strength and character.

Not sure if you have eczema?
Ask your general doctor for a recommendation or referral to a reputable dermatologist in your area.  Also consider asking friends and family for a dermatologist they respect.  Don’t settle for the first diagnosis given to you.  Always ask for a second opinion, if you are doubtful.  Sometimes eczema has been misdiagnosed as psoriasis.  It is important to know what kind of dermatitis you have because eczema and psoriasis are treated differently.

Live in the Sacramento, CA area?
I would highly recommend Dr. Amber Stevenson, M.D. at Sutter Medical Health.  In my 26 years of having eczema, no other doctor has been more helpful.

About jamiesjournals

Yes, I have eczema. Yes, I'm writing about it. I suppose it's unoriginal, but I hope my work isn't. Please share more of your stories and experiences with me and please suggest topics if you're curious about anything. Hope to hear from all of you soon!! View all posts by jamiesjournals

2 responses to “WHAT IS ECZEMA?

Leave a Reply

