OTHER MEMOIRS

As a blogger I can truly appreciate the writings of others.  Below are some links to bloggers/writers who have eczema too.  All of these people have suffered with this skin condition, but it doesn’t have to be that way.  Read their stories and feel free to share your own personal memoir too.  This is the forum to share your stories, struggles, and/or success!  I’d love to hear from you!

I am a huge fan of this particular blog post of Jen Miller’s that was featured in the New York Times.  I think Miller does an exemplary job at describing how eczema comes and goes in cycles.  It’s also important to note how she describes in detail the pain someone can feel when they have an outbreak or a flareup.  She does this so well that even an outsider can understand how uncomfortable it feels to have eczema.  This blog is a longer read, but comes full circle in the end and is definitely worth the time if you have it.

“The painful cycle of eczema” by Jen Miller, New York Timeshttp://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/12/15/the-painful-cycle-of-eczema/

Though less sophisticated in writing as Miller is, this blogger recounts moments in her life that I think every patient of eczema can understand.  She has a real point of view and conversational blogs.  She also notes how it’s important to remember we are part of a blogging community and not doctors by any means.  Every patient will have a different memoir.

Diary of an Eczema Suffererhttp://skinurghs.blogspot.com/2011/12/trying-to-survive-winter.html

Though no laughing matter, this blog made me smile.  Kim is not an experienced writer or blogger, but her storytelling is what makes this blog interesting to me.  As you read her memoir, you hear a friend’s voice and you can almost begin to imagine what her facial expressions are.  Thanks Kim for sharing your story with all of us.

Itchy Little World by Kim – http://itchylittleworld.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/growing-up-with-eczema-and-the-green-monster-guest-blog/

About jamiesjournals

Yes, I have eczema. Yes, I'm writing about it. I suppose it's unoriginal, but I hope my work isn't. Please share more of your stories and experiences with me and please suggest topics if you're curious about anything. Hope to hear from all of you soon!! View all posts by jamiesjournals

4 responses to “OTHER MEMOIRS

Leave a comment