LACEY’S STORY


For anyone who knows me, they know I am NOT tech savvy!  So here is my first attempt at an edited podcast with music.. Enjoy!

SCRIPT: (Follow along!)

Hey everyone, my name is Jamie from EczemaMemoirs.wordpress.com. Thanks for checking out my blog and taking the time to read my material.  Having eczema can be a challenge, having a child with eczema is an even bigger challenge.  However, building a strong support system to ease the struggles will dissipate those difficulties.  Today, I’ll be telling you a little bit about myself and my experiences with eczema. I’ll be talking to you about the people I’ve helped and how they’ve influenced the creation of this blog.

At 26 years old, I’ve had eczema all my life. I was born with a severe condition that luckily, only grew better with time.  Because I was born in the 80s, little information was available to my parents to help ease the pain for their baby girl.  With today’s information highway, vast resources, and technological advances in medicine, I’ve been able to compile a variety of different treatments for this skin condition onto one blog.  I’ve been fortunate to get better with time, but it’s not always the case for people with eczema.

I met a mother named Lacey about 6 months ago.  She has an 8-year-old daughter, Lynn.  Lacey told me her daughter, who is in the third grade, has been sent home from school on numerous occasions because the eczema around her mouth is so out of control that it cracks and bleeds.  The school says they can’t have Lynn around the other children when her eczema has flareups like that.

Lacey ran into me at a grocery store and bravely approached me asking about my eczema.  Instead of grocery shopping for myself, I spent nearly an hour with Lacey telling her how changing my diet helped me and what Lynn could try.  We walked around finding foods an 8-year-old could still enjoy, despite her struggles with eczema.  Lacey was so grateful for my help, she actually started to cry.  It was the first time I realized I could help someone, that my story could make a difference in someone else’s life.   Lacey and I exchanged contacts and we still keep in touch with each other today.  Lynn has been sent home from school only once since her mom changed her diet.

It’s experiences like this once that remind me why eczema memoirs is so important to me. It reminds me of my social responsibility to put these stories and information out there.

This is Jamie with EczemaMemoirs.wordpress.com. Be sure to check EczemaMemoirs.wordpress.com to read more about my experiences, memoirs, and how you can treat your own skin condition.  Thanks for listening!

About jamiesjournals

Yes, I have eczema. Yes, I'm writing about it. I suppose it's unoriginal, but I hope my work isn't. Please share more of your stories and experiences with me and please suggest topics if you're curious about anything. Hope to hear from all of you soon!! View all posts by jamiesjournals

6 responses to “LACEY’S STORY

  • GRATITUDE « THE ECZEMA MEMOIRS

    […] Lacey’s Story (eczemamemoirs.wordpress.com) […]

  • Celiac and Allergy Adventures

    I’ve had severe eczema my entire life as well…. and no treatments back then seemed to help (light therapy, oral steroids, topical steroids, some gross tar cream, EVERYTHING…). Even now, there seems to be minimal effective treatment aside from cutting out things that exacerbate it. I’ve written about my childhood experiences with eczema and bullying a bit on my blog as well. Look forward to reading more of yours!

  • jamiesjournals

    Thanks so much for leaving this comment!! I definitely feel your pain. It’s because of experiences like yours that I write this blog. I’ve tried practically everything too and it’s been just so frustrating!! I’m getting allergy tested again soon, so hopefully I can learn more and post more on here. I’ll check your blog out too for sure. Maybe even have you write a guest blog for me. Thanks again Celiac and Allergy Adventures!!

  • ECZEMA APPS FOR SMARTPHONES « THE ECZEMA MEMOIRS

    […] Lacey’s Story (eczemamemoirs.wordpress.com) […]

  • eczemaexcellence

    I would love to see a post on your diet, since you mention that changing it helped you! It seems that with eczema, there are so many foods deemed to make it worse, and a lot of times we get misdiagnosed with food allergies. I don’t have any known food allergies, but some supposed intolerances, and I’ve definitely tried changing my diet, without very much help. So would be interested to hear your own experience!

    • jamiesjournals

      I would love to write a post on that for you!! I’m actually working on a blog right now that makes suggestions of what you can buy if you decide to try going gluten free. It’s sort of a way to say, “Hey, you can do this. It’s not as hard as it sounds.” I have severe allergies to nuts and other foods I simply have an intolerance. I can do a post about food intolerances too. There’s a book I can recommend also. You can try that, but it’s been controversial because some people say it works and others say it doesn’t… But, I guess you could say that about any diet.

      Thanks for your comment/suggestion. I will work on those blogs for you!!

Leave a Reply

