GLUTEN ALLERGY LINKED TO ECZEMA

gluten_EMMedical evidence links gluten allergies/intolerances as a cause of eczema flareups, studies have shown.  According to the National Eczema Association and the Livestrong Foundation, people with eczema may potentially have an allergy or intolerance to foods containing gluten.  The exact cause of eczema is unknown, but allergies, the environment and other substances can aggravate it. In particular, having a wheat or gluten allergy may trigger eczema, according to the Australian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy.

What is gluten?  It’s a substance that is responsible for giving dough its elastic texture.  Gluten will mostly be found in anything containing wheat, especially breads and pastas.  Although cutting gluten out of your diet sounds difficult, it’s very possible.  Keep an eye out for my follow up blog about eating gluten-free on a budget.  The blog will also contain information on how to ease into going gluten-free so cutting out that bread cold turkey won’t give you withdrawals!

-Sources: National Eczema Association, Livestrong Foundation, Australian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy.

About jamiesjournals

Yes, I have eczema. Yes, I'm writing about it. I suppose it's unoriginal, but I hope my work isn't. Please share more of your stories and experiences with me and please suggest topics if you're curious about anything. Hope to hear from all of you soon!! View all posts by jamiesjournals

5 responses to “GLUTEN ALLERGY LINKED TO ECZEMA

  • Amanda

    Have you gone gluten free?

    • jamiesjournals

      I’d be lying if I said I’m eating 100% gluten-free 100% of the time. I’ve definitely cut back, but I love my bread!! So it is hard sometimes. But I started replacing my bread with Udi’s brand and it’s pretty damn good. I’m working on a blog for gluten-free shopping at Trader Joe’s. I’m don’t have an allergy, but I can see a difference in my skin when I’m not eating gluten!!

      • Amanda

        I’m glad to hear you notice a difference! That’s great. Udi’s is pretty good – a bit dense but it works. If you toast it or grill it, you can’t even tell.

        I have a love/hate relationship with TJ’s. I find it the hardest to navigate for gluten free products of EVERY grocery store. It’s hard to find labels, there isn’t a specific aisle, etc. I do have a link to their gluten-free list under resources on my blog though. I’ll be interested to hear what you write about them!

  • jamiesjournals

    Oh, I can imagine. I picked them because I’m the most familiar with their product and it’s affordable, even though people have the misconception that they’re expensive. I’ll post recipes with photos too, so at least you’ll be able to go into a TJ and use ur smartphone to say, “Hey, where do you guys have this?” Haha. I think I will link the gluten-free list on here too 😀

    Where do you shop most often for groceries?

Leave a Reply

